Flying isn’t my best skillset – today’s proof is written with love… Mahalo Hawaiian Airlines

There are things that happen on the adventure and then there are things that happen and nothing can be done.  The last 24 hours is a perfect example of this.  It all started last night, when I was sitting down to book check in to my flight to leave on the next leg of my flight…. and then it happens – I realize that my inter island flight was booked 24 hours to soon and now I have to get a new ticket.  In a panic, I call the Hawaiian Airlines help desk and ask to speak to a person.  Unfortunately, during my first call, I got disconnected.  After taking a few to slow down mentally, I try again.

This time I speak to a travel agent and explain my circumstances, including the fact that i have an international connecting flight that departs at 4:30 pm.  We examine prices and determine that with a ticket change and the balance difference, my First Class flight will be about $100 more.  Since this was my mistake, I accept responsibility and pay for a new ticket; I mean it’s not like I could say no – I’m on a mission here!  After a happy dance and a few waves of anxiety I hurriedly process my check in using cut and paste features amid the packing and re positioning of my goods in their various bags.  Oh the happy life for me…

Until the good byes and thank you’s are complete and I’m all alone at the Lihue Airport… waiting standby to leave the island on a beautiful Friday morning because all flights are booked solid.  I don’t know about waiting for a standby fight when you’re on an island, headed to another island – to catch the only fight to another island where flights are only every few days…  but I’m grateful to be on the inside, and to be able to get past security into the terminal situation.  Then at least I can ask more questions and see what options might be available to me…

And true their promise, the staff at Hawaiian Airlines share the Aloha spirit with me today, even if it came at a price.  After getting to my gate I met Gabriel, a true Aloha Ambassador!  She explained to me that all flights were booked all morning and the likelihood of getting to Pago Pago today was kind of slim… as she continued to search her mighty computer Gabriel found one last ray oh hope for me – a seat became open on an island hopping plane!  But wait, there’s always bad news with these things, another change fee!  With apologies she explained the situation and what would be required of me.  Why didn’t my original ticket fly on the 11th?  I still don’t know… I’m even more baffled by the idea that I explained my situation to the gal on the phone last night and I still ended up with an inter island ticket that departed after my international flight.  Gabriel did go out of her way for me though, she made sure that my bags didn’t get sent to baggage claim on the other side of security.  They will be waiting for me in American Samoa and I’ll have time to breathe and meditate on gratitude in the mean time.  The mission of cleaning up messes made by others will be filled with opposition and hurdles.  Today I have gratitude for many things, including that this will work out in the end.  Some lessons come at a bigger price than others, today’s cost me about $175, but in a take action world – money always greases the wheels it seems.  So does kindness and humility.  Had I been rude, panicky, or otherwise unkind – things may not have turned out the same, and I could have been stuck on an island on the otherside of the world, not able to get where I needed to be.
And who knows better than me how times of trial and fire-  purify, cleanse and awaken.
So for now, this is my story on this leg of the adventure…

What I know is that right now I am going to get on an airplane, I’m leaving for American Samoa this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

