Blizzard Warnings in April – how is your garden coming?

Having moved to Colorado in July of last year, adjusting to a different “Normal” to what Spring means is definitely something new.   Having lived in Wisconsin and Illinois all of my life, I am accustomed to April Showers, not Snow and Blizzards.  It got me to thinking that I am missing something in my day to day life.  Gardening!

I have been aware of many different changes since moving to a concentrated metropolitan area for the first time in my life.  One of these is composting.  Breads, lawn clippings, banana peels, egg shells, coffee grounds and plant matter of all kinds!   For the fist time in years I find myself considering ways that I can participate in the social effort of responsible food development.  There are some community gardens, and based on the snow count, I’m sure I’m not to late to get in on a plot I’m sure, however with all the changes of work, I really think I want to find someone who will co-work the gardens.

I can hear it now, Brian – planting a garden sounds fun but I don’t have the time.  Well, I understand that people think gardening is labor intensive.  And maybe for some it is.  I will state this one thing, Gardening is my peace.  This is the one thing that I get to do, where I can slow down, take a little time out of the go go go of the modern world and say Hello to God, the dirt, worms, and even the weeds.

The other excuse you are going to give is that you don’t know what to do!  (This is where I get giddy).  I met Lorraine the other day while riding the train to school.  She’s into gardening and she has one of the most amazing websites I have ever explored.  You can find it here.
http://www.vegetable-gardening-with-lorraine.com  Now the home page has a lot of things to consider, however if you just want to know where to start, this is the link I would choose.
http://www.vegetable-gardening-with-lorraine.com/starting-a-vegetable-garden.html

Now I haven’t gotten to garden today, but I sure have gotten to write about it.  Hopefully this will allow someone who hasn’t the slightest idea a place to begin to learn and explore!  I hope you enjoy her site!

 

2 thoughts on “Blizzard Warnings in April – how is your garden coming?

  1. I find myself this year at battle with doing my garden. I just found out today that Denver has declared a stage two water drought so they are limiting watering to twice a week. Now of course that means that you can water taking the risk of getting fined. This also poses the question which is the better sustainability initiative; contributing to responsible food development? conserving water and not eating this way? growing and supporting locally?

    Interesting post I am looking forward to hear how you decide to go. I have had friends participate in community gardens and loved it. I also compost year round and love it!

    • Good news!!! Watering is for Lawns, not gardens or flower pots (at least that’s my understanding). Thinking that helping others get better space is probably my goal this year!

Leave a Reply

