Have you ever woken up in the morning and just wanted to cry?

This morning has been that way.   It is 7 am and I’ve been up since 5:30.  I have to meet with a professor in 3 hours and I am feeling so broken right now.  The whole point of getting up early was to continue reworking my term paper outline/rough draft.  I am writing a paper on the problems with the EPA and how Presidential and Congressional deregulation efforts have placed us in a situation where the EPA does not have accurate funding, cross government support and a record of effective judicial backing in enforcement and penalties to maintain it’s directives effectively.  So I’m doing my best to stay focused, I mean I got up at 5:30 to work!

As I continue my research efforts, new things start popping up at me.  Sometime in the last several days I wrote about how we have had major and minor oil spills and our news media isn’t covering it.  It’s like there was a secret executive order to maintain silence on these matters.  The FAA even went so far as to declare a broken pipeline Tar Sands / Bitumen spill  in Mayflower, Alabama a No Fly Zone while reporters attempting to access government officials are threatened with jail for trespassing.  Yes I said No Fly Zone.  Maybe you remember how we maintained a NFZ on Saddam Hussein so he couldn’t pester the indigenous people of Northern Iraq with chemical missiles in the 90’s or how after September 11, 2001 the nation’s airspace was shut down.  That’s a no fly zone.  No look see, don’t come around here – kind of action.  I wonder if there are military planes enforcing this…. anyway I digress.

This morning, I found this :

Montana.  Oil is bubbling up to the ground and entering waterways.  Clean up efforts continue to show PAPER TOWELS being used to clean things up.  So this morning, my spirit is crying deeply.  I won’t turn on the TV because I’m supposed to be working I have a paper to write and it’s due next week.  I can’t seem to get away from this.  This information leads me to understand that on top of Mayflower Alabama, the train derailment in Minnesota, and the pipeline leaks in Houston Texas, we now have a pipeline discharging oil in Montana.   Does this upset you too?  It upset me so much I had to put my paper down and type this out.

Please I can’t ask you enough, write your congressmen and other representatives!  Then call your news agencies and ask them, why they aren’t covering this!  Can you spend 10 minutes today, I just don’t have the strength or focus – I have a paper to write and grades to earn, and ugh – I haven’t even been awake 2 hours and I want to break down and cry!

One thought on “Have you ever woken up in the morning and just wanted to cry?

  1. Didn’t know you had a blog, Brian! Here’s my point: articles like the one I was bantering about on Facebook are a distraction from important issues like the ones you bring up here. It also bothered me from a writer’s standpoint: some guy got paid to write that article, in which he made absolutely no point and took no stand. And that’s the kind of useless journalism that gets people posting on Facebook, while the actual problems of our world go unreported. It drives me nuts. If we are desensitized to the issues, it’s because BS like that clutters up our brains, and we need less of it, not more.

    In response to your blog, however: Instead of getting bogged down in hopelessness, don’t forget to feel grateful for the efforts of countless people who ARE doing good work to try and save our planet! Those people are reported about in the media even LESS than the disasters, as I’m sure you know. As you touch on in a previous blog, you have to pick your battles, and the best place to start is LOCALLY, where you can set a visible example and make a direct impact and start changing minds one person at a time. Getting overwhelmed constantly by all the negativity in the world leads to a lack of productivity. You have to be thankful for having your faculties intact and the ability to do what you’re doing right here with this blog and all the actions you’ve taken yourself. It’s great stuff!

    I hope I don’t sound like I’m preaching; just giving my perspective!

Leave a Reply

